Australian Embassy

MR100916 Olyroos join Hanoi's Birthday

Australian Olyroos footballers join Hanoi’s 1000th birthday celebrations

The Australian Mens Under 23 Football Team, nicknamed the Olyroos, will participate in the Thang Long Cup from 18-25 September, celebrating Hanoi’s 1000th anniversary.

The 20 member squad will take on the Vietnam National Team (Wednesday 22 September) and U23 teams from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (Monday 21 September) and Kuwait (Friday 24 September). The Olyroos, coached by former Australian captain Aurelio Vidmar, represent Australia at the Olympic Games.

Australian Ambassador HE Mr Allaster Cox said, “Australia and Vietnam share a common passion for football and this tournament is a great opportunity to enjoy the “beautiful game” together. We’re pleased the Olyroos will participate in this tournament, an ideal warm-up ahead of the start of their London 2012 Olympics campaign.”

While in Vietnam, the team will also participate in charity activities for young Vietnamese footballers, organised in cooperation with the Australian Embassy in Hanoi.

Football is increasingly prominent in Australia, with over 1 million Australians playing football in one form or another. Australia made its second consecutive appearance at the World Cup in South Africa in 2010. Many former Olyroos and current member of the Australian national team, the Socceroos, play in the major football leagues of the world (eg. Lucas Neil and Harry Kewell – Turkish Super Lig; Tim Cahill and Mark Schwarzer – English Premier League; Scott Chipperfield – Swiss Super League). Australia is currently bidding to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup, which would witness a welcome return of the World Cup to the Oceanic and Asia regions.

The Olyroos squad named for the Hanoi tournament is: Luke BRATTAN (Brisbane Roar), Oliver BOZANIC (Central Coast Mariners), James BROWN (Gold Coast United), Isaka CERNAK (North Queensland Fury), Luke DeVERE (Brisbane Roar), Mate DUGANDZIC (Melbourne Victory), Diogo FERRIERA (Melbourne Victory), Antony GOLEC (Sydney FC), Marko JESIC (Newcastle Jets), Jason HOFFMAN (Melbourne Heart), Matthew JURMAN (Sydney FC), Tahj MINNIECON (Gold Coast United), Daniel MULLEN (Adelaide United), Mitch NICHOLS (Brisbane Roar), Scott NEVILLE (Perth Glory), Chris PAYNE (North Queensland Fury), Mirjan PAVLOVIC (Wellington Phoenix), Andrew REDMAYNE (Brisbane Roar), Sebastian RYALL (Sydney FC), Jerrad TYSON (Gold Coast United)